Showing posts with label birthday. Show all posts
Showing posts with label birthday. Show all posts

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Some things never Change or My birthday post!

I woke up this morning completely oblivious to what day it was. I got up, shuffled to the kitchen to make my morning cup of coffee. The kids greeted me as usual with descriptions of the art work they quietly made while I was still hibernating in my room with cozy blankets and snoring pets.
Nina said something about not being dressed pretty, and I ignored it, because I'm used to her pairing skin tight leggings with shirts that are defiantly not long enough to cover those skin tight leggings. Maybe I'm a wee bit old fashion, but I'm not found of the leggings. I know they rock the comfort scale, but they should really be paired with a dress. I took a few hits sips of coffee and suddenly it dawned on me. It's my birthday!
My 37th to be exact. Which is a little scary and thrilling all at the same time.
And I've realized some things haven't changed.


This is me on my first birthday. I have this exact smile on today!


 I was a good mommy, kept my babes clean and fed and never took any lip or they faced a good scolding and a time out. What has changed is I no longed throw the babies. Ahem, good thing I learned that! (another thing you can't hear, is I am actually "yelling" at my sister to give me back the bottle it's my baby! and right after this pic was taken I took the baby and threw it down because she wouldn't let me feed it.) I'm still protective of my "babies."


I love music and can get lost in the moment of a song.


 I love picnics on sunny afternoons with those I love and no bugs.


I've posted this photo before, and it's still relevant, I am not a morning person.


 My best friend is the boy I wanted to marry. I married my best friend. (This is Nick P. I was going to marry him, we had it all planned, then they went and moved. This began my long 23 year search my a new best friend to marry...) I should try to find him on facebook, I would if he has a daughter named Sara?


 Oh, this picture makes me LAUGH! I love to talk on the phone, and not the cell phone, it drives me crazy when the call drops! I was such a lady even back then, legs crossed, sipping my coke talking about Strawberry shortcake and Nick P.


 We celebrated on Saturday at Osaka. It was a lot of fun.

 Maybe a little too much... I did after all have a few of these.

MMM, something pink and fruity!

Wednesday, December 29, 2010

Christmas Rewind.


It has been so busy around here, blogging has become something I used to do...
I get a triple whammy at Christmas time. Not only do we celebrate the birth of our Lord and Savior, but we also celebrate the birth of each of my kiddos.
This year I had Butter's "friend party" early, which helped out a great deal.
My Husband decided he would surprise me this year and so on Dec. 23rd we picked up a 2009 Dodge Grand Caravan, whom Butter has named "Holly". I was extremely surprised and excited! Our son however, upon seeing the van began crying "I want the Subaru! I hate the van!"
He hated the van for one day, until he got in a realized that no, he doesn't have to sit right next to Butter and he gets the back all to himself where he can watch his own DVD. As a matter of fact, he did not want to get out and go open presents Christmas morning because he was so content in the van!
No pictures yet, sorry I'm awful. It's just been so busy. Soon, pictures of the van are coming soon.
We normally host Christmas Eve at our house, both our families come out and it's always a lovely time.
As many of you know, my sister and I don't have the greatest relationship.
I heard through Mother that she asked if I was having Christmas. (She could have just as well talked to me about it, but well, that would have meant she had to talk to me about it...you see how that works.)
So I took it upon myself to tell my Brother in law (whom technically isn't my brother in law, but in fact the father of my nieces and nephew) that I was having Christmas Eve and that they were invited. (They being Him, his fiance' and the kids; since my side of the family opens gifts on Christmas day.)
Sherri HAD to call me, when her daughter was invited to Butter's slumber party, making NO mention of Christmas.
The day before Christmas Eve, I got a call from Thomas; Sherri was not allowing the kids to go with him for Christmas Eve. I called her and asked if she was bringing the kids out. Her response to me was "No. Me and my kids are doing something different this year."
I asked why? She said she wasn't comfortable coming over if Thomas and Val would be there.
I told her if she had the kids, they would not be coming, they were only coming to bring the kids.
She said again that they were doing something different this year.
I told her I thought she was playing games and was being spiteful, she hung up on me.
She called me the next day to tell me she didn't get to tell me everything she wanted to say; could it be because she ended the conversation so abruptly perhaps?
She then went on to tell me that her kids enjoyed coming out to our house and that Christmas was always fun. I waited for what ever else she was going to say but she said nothing. I said "I don't understand what you are saying?"
"I thought I made myself perfectly clear." With that she hung up again.
Was she waiting for an invitation? She told me the night before she wasn't coming, what did she expect me to say?
I found out through my niece they did nothing, NOTHING, no church, nothing.
It was as we had suspected, she wasn't going to let those kids come out. I also found out that she had planned to keep them from their Dad Christmas day also, but my Dad's wife ended up in the hospital that day with kidney stone's so they weren't having Christmas so THEN Sherri let Thomas have the kids.
It sickens me to no end that she does this to her kids, uses then as pawns.
Although she tried, Grinch-sister did not ruin Christmas!
The Cox's loaded up in the new sleigh and enjoyed a beautiful Christmas service at Church.
My mom came out and we had a lovely small dinner.
Followed by exchanging gifts.

 Oh Christmas tree, Oh Christmas tree...

 I'll have a bluuuuuuuuuuue Christmas....

 Rockin' around the Christmas tree...
How did we get the dog to sit so good and not the photogenic one?

 Waiting to open...she already knows what it is, okay, she thinks she knows...

 We look like a big red blob! I love snuggling up with my boy!

 Christmas morning! They are ready to tear into those stockings.

Nicholas got Wild Hockey tickets from Santa!
(A college roommate of Rob's asked if he was interested in Wild tickets, his buddy got tickets, found out the guy he wanted to see was hurt and didn't want to drive the 8 hours for the game. The seats were just off the goal, 16 rows up! And we got them for FREE!)

 At Nana & Papa's with Go Go Dog "Winter" and "Big Red"
Nick took this picture of Rob and I.

 Jac(quie) -Attack helping the kids open gifts.

 Blaine, Nina and Nick

 I love this one! Poor little guy, he's had enough!

Dec. 26th was a day I spent doing all my last minute detail shopping for Nina's new room! We still needed to paint.
And it happened to be the day the boys were going to the hockey game!

Nick had so much fun with his Daddy. He stayed for the whole game, unfortunately the Wild lost. As Nick said at the end of the game "Stupid Detroit!"


Nina didn't get picked up until afternoon for her over night, so we only had a couple hours to get the room painted and set up. I was up until 2AM! But it turned out beautifully.
Nick and I waited in her room, I taped up wrapping paper over the door so she had to "open" her present. When she ripped it down Nick and I yelled SURPRISE!
She was very surprised and quiet. That's my girl, she takes it all in.



We took Nina out to Joe's Crab shack for dinner, she wanted crab legs! And for dessert Dairy Queen.
(Nick has requested Taco John's for his birthday...) I am still having a hard time with the fact that my girl is now 8 and not so little anymore!
I have a house full this week, Rob took all week off work, which is FABULOUS! (I love having him around.)
My niece is visiting for a few days, not without drama from her mama though...that's for another post.

 

Thursday, December 23, 2010

Today I paint!

I must be crazy!
Over the summer, when my son got a "new" big boy bed, my daughter complained that she didn't like her bed. (OK, so it was a used bed, and pretty dated...but money doesn't grow on trees and have you seen the price of bed frames? Not the actual bed and box spring...no no the bed frames.)
so all through out the summer I searched for a reasonable priced frame that was indeed NEW. I found one, and it was less then $200 including shipping and NOT from Ikea.
So the plan began...we'll give her a room make over now that she's turning 8.
She's into blue.
I found a very cute quilt on clearance.
I made matching curtains.
The bed came and is already put together in her room. We told her about the bed, because we needed it put together and in the room, so we could get the other one out. She has no idea there is more, she thinks it's just the bed and that's good.
So today I must get half the room painted. She thinks it is to match the white of her bed. (She has white walls now, but the bed is more of a cream color.)
We made arrangements for her to spend the night at Nana and Papa's house on the 26th, so Hubby and I could paint the room. Then Hubby says "I can get tickets to the Wild game, we could give them to Roo for Christmas..."
"That's great! He'll LOVE that and we wouldn't be able to afford those seats EVER, so yeah, take the tickets! What day did you say the game was for?"
Long pause
"The 26th."
Long pause
"Um, we're suppose to be doing a room maker over that day!"
"I know. But the tickets are free! The seats are behind the goal in row 16."
"Oh crap. Take the tickets. I'll figure something out."

So, that is why I am painting half the room today. That way I only have half the room to paint on the 26th and only half the room to wait to dry, so the room can be finished for her on her birthday, the 27th!
I still have to find a lamp and some colored bins. We decided against a desk right now because she does her homework at the table.
Well, I'm off to go paint.
I have to get it done by 1pm, We have an errand to run this afternoon!
My Christmas present is ready! WOO HOO!

Saturday, December 11, 2010

Why is it called a "Slumber" party? Nobody sleeps!

My ears are still ringing, like I spent the night at a Justin Beiber concert!
That piercing shrill of young girl energy!
It started with the girls looking for the Pickle in the tree, none of them found it.

This excited Rob because that only means he's still got a chance to win the mini bop-it.
I never knew how much little girls could eat, I've heard stories about boys, which I haven't experienced yet with Roo, but girls, they were like piranhas after a month long fast!
The pizza we made barely fit in our oven, I sliced and diced pineapple, apples and oranges, there was not a spec of food left!

About an hour later they devoured cupcakes and ice cream. An hour after that three bags of popcorn and a Cosco size bag of Doritos's!
OH MY!
I am *shutter* afraid of what will happen when the hormones start firing.
It was at 2AM, that the conversation turned to: "Who do you think is the hottest boy in class?"
Not cutest, hottest.
What?
Each girl gave her choice, the majority chose a boy Butter's been known to pal around with, a boy, if she could have, invited to her party.
And why was Brock the "chosen" hotty? Wait for it...
His muscles.
insert: eye rolling, gaping mouth, face of shock, or disbelief.
It was then that I went downstairs and announced: "Alright girls, no more talking. It's time for bed."
The yawn started at one side of the room and worked it's way across and that was it. Seven sweet little girls again...
They slept until 8:30am. Which was nice because it gave Rob and I a chance to get breakfast going before the piranhas girls were up.
We had an extra bonus, a snowstorm came in overnight and is expected to continue through the day. I had a few parents call and say they were coming, but roads were bad...understandable.
I looked at Rob with fear in my eyes and said "I don't know what to feed them for lunch!?!?!?!"
He laughed at me and said "They be gone before then." Under his breath he added " If I have to plow the street myself."
Overall, I have to say the girls were well behaved. They all have different personalities that shine when they get together.
This is Sarah. She is a silly heart, she has this cute little squeaky voice. Someday I am going to want to read her blog! She is so random and funny.


Little miss Holly, is the quiet one. We were all picking up this morning and Holly disappeared, when she came back downstairs she was dressed like this?!
Most of the girls ran from the camera, no amount of wrangling could get them together in one spot for a group photo, unless food was involved...
I'm still trying to wrap my head around why it's called a "slumber" party, because honestly, sleep was the LAST thing on the list of "What should we do now?"

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Weekend update

This past Sunday was Butter's girlie party. The idea started with my Christmas gift. A foot massager. Then while doing some after Christmas deal shopping I found a foot spa that was $39 marked down to $15. It started coming together in my head: Spa party. We called it Spa Nina.
I went searching for all the things I'd need. A lot of prepping went into this party. I wanted the girl's experience to be that of a real Mani/Pedi spa. We found little towels for each of them, cute socks, sponges, travel size containers for the foot cream and hand lotion so each could take some home. We made labels for them saying Spa Nina Hand Lotion and Spa Nina Foot Cream, tied with bows. We found sparkly rings and bracelets. I dug out all my nail polish, enlisted my Mom to come and do the manicures. Nina was very excited, so was Roo, he kept asking "When do I get my spa party?" (Rob took him for a few hours, when he returned I gave him his own turn at the spa. Minus the polish of course. Not that he didn't try.) I think it was the head massager that they liked best though, that and the green nail poilsh!
Oh, the head massager. So; after I finished rubbing their feet, they would switch chairs and use the foot massager, while they were there they could use the head massager too. It is this thing that looks like a whisk, only open on the whisky part. You scrunch it up and down on your head and the little nubs just feel SOOOOO good. It's heaven. If Heaven were a tingly, close your eyes and ahhhhh feeling, that would be IT. I had one cutie ask if they got to take that home too. Nope, sorry that one is mine and I'm already on the hook to by my Mom one now for her birthday.

It was so funny to see how relaxed they all became. Doorbell rings, screeching, jumping around, noise noise noise. Party starts, I call them up, and magically, all you can hear is the machines running and me asking each of the girls questions as I rub their feet. None of them were much into talking, they just wanted their rubbing. Much like a real spa. After they were all polished it was time for cake! I can honestly say the sugar did nothing to them. Nina got some great gifts, mostly involving make-up. Which they decided to throw caution to the wind and have make-overs too. All except one sweetie who kindly told me "I'm not allowed to wear make-up." I told that she should then be the make-up artist. It was a fun day, it was nice to see Butter enjoying herself with her friends.
The other day on Facebook I wrote that God smiled at me. It wasn't just the butter heart that day. I went to the fabric store. I had found some fabric well over a year ago, I knew that Rob's brother Chris and SIL Stacey were trying to get pregnant. They did, but sadly that ended in a miscarrige. Not much was said for a while, but I found this fabric and as soon as I saw it I knew it was for a blanket I would one day make for their baby. Last week we found out that they are expecting a little boy the end of May. My clock began to tick. Since finding the fabric, I having been searching for other fabrics to match it, with NO luck. I was begining to think I'd have to start from scratch. Then the other day I meandered into a fabric store and found not one, but 6 other fabrics to make this blanket/quilt. I don't know quite how to describe the feeling, this is by far the most challenging piece I've done. I can totally see it in my head, but my fingers just are not skilled. I have a ways to go. (And if you know me at all you know that a ways for me is a blink of an eye for someone else. So don't be surprised if by Monday I'm posting a picture of the completed thing. I can only say, when I'm working on something I am very OCD, one track minded. Nothing stands in the way of me and completion.)
So here is your taste:

Tell me that Elephants aren't the cutest! I have no idea what color(s) they are planning for his room, but I knew I didn't want to go blue. Making blankets for me is like creating a piece of my heart that will go off and hoping comfort someone else. It all started when I received a blanket from a dear friend for my birthday. It was a blanket she made, and it remains very special to me.


Friday, January 1, 2010

Five.

My precious boy, five years ago tonight you decided you waited long enough to be born. You didn't seem to care that we were having an ice storm, or that it was a holiday, you just wanted to meet us.
Since joining us, you have provided many laughs and giggles. Like how you always had your lovie and suckie, how you would climb in the garbage lid and sit; like it was your own personal chair.

How you take after your Daddy and must read while "taking care of business".


How you were so excited to start school, and you continue to enjoy it and are such a smart little guy!
How you love your sports teams like Daddy, and are a super fan!

So on this day, your fifth birthday, I will try not to feel so old and out-grown. I will do my best to focus on not how BIG you've gotten, or how much you've learned, but how much you've brought to my life and how deep the love I have for you is in my heart, how it grows deeper and stronger with each passing year. 5 years deep!
Happy Birthday Nick-a-Roo!





Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Butter's Birthday!

Sunday was Butter's 7th birthday. I still am in shock over the fact that she is NOW 7. Where on earth did that time go? One of her Christmas gifts was an AMerican Girl Doll, Ruthie. She also got a matching dress set. Seen here:
She will be having the Family birthday party on Sunday and the Sunday after that is her GIRL party.
Here she is opening one of her gifts...

She had guessed it was a doll house, I was trying to tell her OTHER things were shaped like that too. As you can see on her face she is saying to me "I TOLD you it was a doll house!"
Yep, she told me alright, still doesn't change the fact that she loved it and has been playing with it non-stop for three days now!
We took her out for Crab legs for her birthday dinner. I was SHOCKED that my picky children ate at Red Lobster and asked to go back! Roo had popcorn Shrimp and Butter Crab legs. They won't eat Thanksgiving dinner but they want Red Lobster! GO figure!

Monday she decided she wanted her ears pierced. I asked her over and over again if she really wanted to. We have gone through this several times, where she says she does, we go in and then she chickens out. We went up to the store and she was brave going in, but then the nerves hit. She tuned out and wouldn't listen to me, she became frozen in her fear. I knew she was ready. She's been toying with the idea for months now. She is a lot like me, in that our fear of the unknown, fear of there being pain can paralyze us where we stand. I also knew that as soon as the pain was over she'd love them, and feel like the big girl she is. I looked like the meanest mom on the planet, forcing my child up into the chair and saying "We're doing this TODAY!"
The Girl came over and talked to her, I could see her relax a bit. She cried after the first one and got squirmy. I talked her down, gave her a hug and told to hold still we still had one more to do. She grit her teeth and finished it out. She cried a bit again but once she saw her earrings she was all smiles. I was so proud of her!